Skip Navigation

Young business owners of four fledgling operations compete for scholarships in Junior Achievement Young Entrepreneur Live Competition on February 19, airing February 24

MILWAUKEE, Wisconsin (January 31, 2022) – Seven teenage Wisconsin business owners representing four businesses will compete for a $10,000 grand prize scholarship in a Shark Tank-style competition hosted by Junior Achievement of Wisconsin on February 19, with the program airing February 24. The competition, in its second year, will feature a panel of guest judges and will be filmed at Majic Productions in Waukesha.

Interested viewers can register to watch the free event on 3:30 p.m. February 24:

As on the popular TV show Shark Tank, each high school entrepreneur has been operating a business, selling a product or service. These finalists will present their business and argue their case for the scholarship to the panel of judges. The judges will offer feedback, ask questions, and provide constructive criticism.

“Entrepreneurship is one of the core principals of Junior Achievement,” said Michael Frohna, President of Junior Achievement. “We want to continue building on the success of the first ever Young Entrepreneur Live Competition last year by reinforcing the entrepreneurial spirit in a new generation of American leaders. In many ways, this event brings to life the lessons children learn in classrooms that include JA programming.”

Judges include:

  • Craig Culver, Chairman, co-founder, brand ambassador—Culver’s
  • Greg Marcus, President—Marcus Corp.
  • Denise Thomas, President, owner—The Effective Communication Coach
  • Austin Ramirez, CEO—Husco
  • Brittany Rosales, Founder, owner—The Rose Mob Grill

Finalists competing in the Young Entrepreneur Live Competition:

  • Alexis Benrud from Menomonie
  • Michael Mounajjed from Middleton
  • Baxter Salzwedel from Elkhart Lake
  • Samantha Osorio, Ayden Fowler, and Lillian Goeckermann from North Fond du Lac

Among the many applicants all over the state, the four finalists were selected based on the following criteria: Charisma/Hustle, Business Success, Growth Potential and Social Involvement. Other considerations included the entrepreneur’s age at the start of the business, challenges faced, strategic direction, innovation, personal integrity and leadership.
Outside of the $10,000 grand prize, the other three finalists will receive $1,500 scholarships, and one student will receive a $500 cash viewer’s choice award based on voting during the event. All scholarship money was raised through generous event sponsors and donations from community leaders and business owners.


  • BMO
  • T&M Partners
  • EY
  • Russ Darrow Group
  • Baker Tilly

Download PDF

Media Contacts:

Jenny Gryniewicz


Select a button below to see how you or your organization can get involved with Junior Achievement of Wisconsin, Inc..

Donate Volunteer Request A Program

Any questions? Contact us!

We use cookies to provide you a personalized experience. How we do this is by analyzing user behavior on our site and sharing data with our advertising and analytics partners. You consent to our cookie policy if you continue to use this website.

I understand